4 states participating in IRS direct filing pilot

Certain residents in Arizona, California, Massachusetts and New York will be eligible to try the free program in 2024.
A sign outside the Internal Revenue Service building in Washington. (AP Photo/Patrick Semansky, File)

Arizona, California, Massachusetts and New York will work with the Internal Revenue Service to allow certain residents to file their taxes electronically for free next year, the federal agency announced Tuesday.

Congress in 2022 directed the IRS to study creating a free electronic filing program. The 2024 pilot will be open to individual taxpayers in participating states who don’t have much non-wage income and are eligible for a basic set of income tax credits and deductions.

Stay informed
Subscribe to keep reading.

Sign up today to get the latest state new at your fingertips and in your inbox.